This quote, from the article, which is written by a Muslim Brit with family in Somalia who is in the United States as a student, is quite powerful:

That sentiment is shared by Farrah Hassan, 27, a biomedical scientist in London. Ms. Hassan, who also was born in Somalia, was set to fly to the United States during the second week of September for a three-week vacation to Virginia, where she has family, and to New York, which she has long wanted to see. “ I was about to book my flight on June 27, but then I got a call from my aunt in Virginia. She told me not to book the flight, because I might be rejected.”

Ms. Hassan said she had been saving for the trip for two years. “I had the budget to go,” she said. “But I don’t want to spend all that money on a flight, get my hopes up and then get turned back to the U.K. There is no point in trying my luck to go to the U.S., if there is a possibility of getting rejected at the airport. It’s an unfair situation.”


There are always two sides to policy as sweeping as Trump’s travel restrictions, some of which are in effect until the Supreme Court decides on their constitutionality. One should take heart to remember, however, that it is easy to support such policies when neither oneself, nor those they care about, are part of the groups to which they pertain.

Putting a face on those affected by bad policy is the best weapon to pull it out of favour. Show this article to a conservative or otherwise pro-Trump friend today!

Leave a Reply

